the beach bride

creative touches

Posted on: April 26, 2011

Although I’m super anxious to get everything planned for the wedding, I’m actually not upset that we have a bit of a long(er) engagement. I’m sure I’d be able to get everything planned in a year or less if I had to, but a year-and-a-half gives me time to do things exactly the way I want to. I love design, arts and crafts and being creative, so I want to be able to add a lot of creative touches to the wedding, for example, designing my own invitations etc. My first DIY project (which wasn’t even really much of a project!) was finding a creative way to ask our wedding party to be part of our special day. Since we’re doing a destination wedding, I thought about buying everyone luggage tags and inserting little cards in the opening that says “Will you be my bridesmaid?”

I liked the thought of it, but it wasn’t enough. So, I decided to buy everyone a pair of inexpensive flip-flops from Old Navy and loop the luggage tag through the shoes. However, when it came down to buying the luggage tags, I couldn’t find any fun ones! They were all boring ones. I put on my thinking cap and ended up buying clear vinyl ID card holders and used tear-apart business cards to make my own luggage tags. On one side, I wrote “Alex + Stef – September 2012” (since we don’t have an exact date yet) and on the other I wrote the girl/guy’s name and “will you be my bridesmaid/groomsman?” I decorated the tags with 3-D scrapbook stickers and used some pretty silver ribbon to loop them through the sandal strap. I love the way they turned out and they were a hit with our wedding party!! (the Spiderman tag and the little sandals are for Alex’s nephew!)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • No comments yet

Categories

